Two Words That Reduce Anxiety (2 min read)

I've struggled with anxiety most of my life. I often had trouble getting to sleep because too many "what ifs" were racing through my head. Becoming a mom expanded the "what ifs" from my own problems to my children's safety and well-being.

I have used cognitive-behavioral therapy, guided meditations, and progressive muscle relaxation to manage the symptoms. And then suddenly, like I stepped into a parallel universe where "that one weird internet trick" actually works, I ran into this YouTube short.

TL;DR: instead of "what if," say "even if."

The shift in anxiety levels was instant: "What if the storm knocks out power?" vs. "Even the storm knocks out power, I would..."

It shifts the train of thought from catastrophizing to solutions.

Let me know if this shift is helpful for you.

Warm regards,

-Mariya