Tangled Priorities (2 min read)

Yesterday, I wrote in a journal for the first time in six months. The chaos of life was starting to catch up with me, and journaling can do wonders for laying out tangled thoughts.

I wrote out ideas for homeschooling my daughter, and then wrote out how important it was for us to spend quality time together in uninrerrupted conversation. Immediately, a thought came:

"Oh, I should transcribe those conversations so she sees how important writing is, and then she might be more interested in reading because she would be motivated to read the things she said."

Oof. Yes, transcribing conversations can reinforce reading and writing skills, but my mind conflated two different priorities: to educate my daughter and to feel connected with her.

The pressure learn, work, and make the most of every moment is ever-present for me. Even more so with time being squeezed by raising kids.

If atelic--presence-driven--activities continually get the shaft, however, we eventually end up with a life devoid of connection. It's like listening to an audio book on a nature hike--we miss out on the experience of awe that can refuel our creativity, focus, and overall satisfaction with life.

Learning to unplug from the nonstop stream of information and pressure to maximize every minute of every day is a constant practice.

What helps you unplug?

Warm regards,

-Mariya