Procrastination as a Resource (1 min read)

"How is this feeling a resource?"

I took a workshop yesterday on bringing an important project to life with Evelyn Fendler-Lee.

She teaches courses on Thinking at the Edge, a process for using intuition to combine ideas that don't normally occur together--all with the purpose of pushing the edge of what we already know.

We were talking about procrastination and and giving up on important projects. Then we felt into how the felt sense of avoidance is trying to benefit us and how that can serve as a resource.

For me, the felt sense of avoidance was keeping me safe. Somehow I've equated feeling incompetent with danger. How does this serve as a resource? I can use it to focus on what makes me feel safe, like time with family and good rest. Then I can look for cues of danger in giving up/procrastinating and pay attention to cues of curiosity and safety while completing the work. This felt sense that lead to procrastination was not trying to keep me from accomplishing a goal...it just wanted to keep me safe.

What does procrastination feel like for you? How can it be a resource?

Warm regards,

-Mariya